A Paradigm of Colors

A review of the fascinating world of art and its makers

Pour it on

with 2 comments

I usually plan out my paintings meticulously before I start. I measure the design, draw out the pattern, settle on a technique and then pick out the perfect colors and brushes.

But pouring is an entirely different matter. “When you pour paint, you experience the paint’s physicality as it moves on it’s own without a brush or palette knife,” writes Patti Brady, an acrylic artist from San Francisco. Learning to use my paint in a completely different capacity is invigorating.

I pour layers of fluid colors into a small cup, and add one airbrush color that stands out. The fluids stay in the bottom of the cup because they have heavier viscosity, which has a neat affect. Then, with my ruler and compass put away, I pour a shape I had in mind and watch the piece evolve.


blooms of fiction by jenniferloftis.
24×36″ acrylic on canvas


velvet blossoms by jenniferloftis.
18×24″ acrylic on canvas

Written by jenniferloftis

October 29, 2011 at 4:17 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stunning!

    Cheryl Wilkinson Weems

    October 29, 2011 at 4:30 pm


Leave a Reply

